One voter heads inside the Tree of Peace Friendship Centre to vote on Oct. 21. Voting stations have been set up throughout the city. Each person’s voting station is determined by postal code.
Brett McGarry / NNSL photo

After multiple debates and election forums that have taken place in the NWT, as well as across the country, it’s finally federal election day.

At the conclusion of the 45 day campaign candidates are asking residents to get out and vote for our next federal government.

Follow along at old.nnsl.com tonight for full election coverage featuring live results for the NWT and Nunavut ridings.

If you’re in Yellowknife, voting stations will be open across the city at the Multiplex, St. Patrick’s High School. Please check your voter card to see where you are eligible to vote.

There are three ways to verify your identity and cast a vote.

First, show one piece of government ID with your photo, name and current address, or your driver’s license.

Second, you could show two pieces of ID, both with your name and at least one with your address. These could include your voter information card, and a bank statement, a utility bill and a student ID card, or any of the approved ID forms listed on the Elections Canada website.

Third, failing all of that, you can still vote if you declare your identity and address in writing and have someone who knows you and who is assigned to your polling station vouch for you.

The voucher must be able to prove their identity and address. A person can vouch for only one person (except in long-term care institutions).

Visit elections.ca and click on “where do I vote?” to find your polling station location.

In the NWT, the candidates asking for your votes to become the next member of parliment are incumbent Michael McLeod for the Liberal party, Mary Beckett of the NDP, Yanik D’Aigle of the Conservatives, Paul Falvo for the Green Part and Luke Quinlan for the People’s Party.

This evening, as polls close across the country, each candidate will be waiting for the news at several locations across Yellowknife at or around 7:30 p.m.

McLeod will be at the Chateau Nova Ballroom. Beckett will be at the Elk’s Lodge. Falvo will be at the Copper House. D’Aigle will be at the Museum Cafe. Quinlan will be tied up with personal matters.

Voting stations will be open in the NWT today from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

Keep NNSL news open in your web browser for up to date coverage this evening.

Brett McGarry

Brett McGarry came to Yellowknife in early 2019 after graduating from Humber College with an advanced diploma in journalism. After covering city council and local business as a reporter, Brett is now an...

Leave a comment

Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published.