Three members have been appointed to an independent commission to review MLAs’ compensation and benefits.

Norman Yakeleya of Tulita was appointed chair of the commission, while John Hazenberg and Donna Allen, both of Yellowknife, have been appointed as commissioners.

The appointments were announced on Oct. 20 by Jackson Lafferty, the Speaker of the territorial legislature, on the recommendation of the Board of Management.

The review is a statutory requirement of the Legislative Assembly and Executive Council Act.

The last report was tabled in 2014.

A new report will be delivered to Lafferty within 10 months.

Paul Bickford

Paul Bickford is the reporter for Hay River Hub.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.