The Northwest Territories Liquor and Cannabis Commission (NTLCC) is removing all Russian products from the NWT’s liquor stores in response to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine earlier this week.

The GNWT made the announcement on social media on Friday. The ban also means anyone in the territory with a liquor licence or permit will no longer be able to purchase Russian-made alcohol products.

Some provinces, including Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, have taken similar actions.

The move follows sanctions announced by the federal governmnet under the Special Economic Measures Act in response “to the gravity of Russia’s violation of the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine, and grave human rights violations that have been committed in Russia,” the government of Canada’s website reads.

SEE: Canadian sanctions related to Russia

The Act prohibits Canadian citizens from “import, purchase or acquir(ing) goods, wherever situated, from these regions or any person in these regions.”

Russia launched a full-scale military invasion of Ukraine on Feb. 24. As of Saturday morning, at 198 Ukrainians had died, according to the country’s minister of healthcare.

Leave a comment

Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published.