East Three School’s annual five-on-five basketball tournament officially rebranded itself as the annual Alfred Moses Memorial Tournament Feb. 10-11. Moses was an avid supporter of Inuvik basketball and the program felt naming a tournament after him was a good way to honour his memory. In the end, the host East Three Eagles u19 took the championship.

Lachlan Conway Adams makes his way towards the net. Eric Bowling/NNSL photo

River Keegan Drennan blinks as Tahlia Garaba takes off with the ball. Eric Bowling/NNSL photo

Kayla Walzak holds a image of the tournament banner, which is still in the mail. Eric Bowling/NNSL photo

Winston Moses recites a prayer during the opening ceremonies. Eric Bowling/NNSL photo

Stephanie Parkes holds the Alfred Moses Memorial Tournament plaque, which contains floorboards taken from the original Sir Alexander Mackenzie school. Eric Bowling/NNSL photo

Scorekeepers Tessa Jenks, Brooke Dalton, Jay Bretana, Seigna Hult-Griffin. Eric Bowling/NNSL photo

Adam Mourtada pushes past Jesse Elias to make his way down court. Eric Bowling/NNSL photo

Hamza Mourtada and Keenan Wolki-Jacobson leap for the ball during an opening tip-off. Eric Bowling/NNSL photo

Corey Cockney blasts past Jaxon Lennie Brodhagen. Eric Bowling/NNSL photo

Sasha Olesky makes his way to the net. Eric Bowling/NNSL photo

Kunai Sharma dribbles down the court with Joseph Kay in hot pursuit. Eric Bowling/NNSL photo

Dwayne Raddi reaches out for the ball while Clyde Rogers covers him. Eric Bowling/NNSL photo

Kunai Sharma performs a layup Clyde Rogers covers him. Eric Bowling/NNSL photo

Winners of the u13 portion of the tournament, L-R: River Keegan Drennan, Jacob Robertson, Lachlan Conway Adams, Yale Hansen, Davie Letendre, William Gruben, Hudson Gillis. Photo courtesy of Stephanie Parkes.

East Three Eagles co-captains Dwayne Raddi and Justin Stewart receive the winners plaque from Winston Moses. Photo courtesy of Stephanie Parkes

East Three Eagles u19 won the men’s division- L-R Will Logan, Hamza Mourtada, Mason MacNeil, Justin Stewart, Stephanie Parkes, Deszo Garaba, Dwayne Raddi, Kunal Sharma, Kolsen church (front), John Voudrach (front.) Photo courtesy of Stephanie Parkes

Eric Bowling

Your source for all things happening in the Beaufort Delta. Eric jumped at the chance to write for the Inuvik Drum after cutting his teeth in Alberta. He enjoys long walks, loud music and strong coffee....

Leave a comment

Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published.