Skip to content

Results start becoming clearer as last numbers roll in

It’s after 8 p.m. and the polls are now closed. The only exception was in Dettah, where polls statyed open until 8:26 p.m. due to a delay in opening things up.
Kieron Testart
Kieron Testart looks to be on his way to victory in the riding of Range Lake. Kaicheng Xin/NNSL photo

As the results start to roll in, we can start to safely make some calls.

One race we can call for sure is in Nunakput as Lucy Kuptana is the MLA-elect for that riding. She looks to have defeated Vince Teddy according to the unofficial results but with all polls reporting, she has a nearly 200-vote lead.

Shauna Morgan looks like she has Yellowknife North all wrapped up, as does Kieron Testart in Range Lake. R.J. Simpson appears to be in control in Hay River North and Lucy Kuptana looks to be the MLA-elect in Nunakput. Richard Edjericon is looking to be making a return to the legislative assembly in Tu-Nedhe-Wiilideh and Danny McNeely will return to the assembly as the MLA for Sahtu, defeating incumbent Paulie Chinna and Dolly Pierrot.

Sheryl Yakeleya is the MLA-elect in Dehcho with all polls reporting. She beat three candidates, including incumbent Ron Bonnetrouge. Rocky Simpson is also out as Vince McKay is the new MLA-elect in Hay River South.

Several races are still too close to call, including Frame Lake, which has been a three-horse race between Julian Morse, Stuart Wray and Spencer Tracy; Stacie Arden Smith and Kate Reid and neck-and-neck with incumbent Katrina Nokleby sitting third; and Vince McKay is still out in front in Hay River South over incumbent Rocky Simpson and Wally Schumann.

Here are the latest numbers with the MLA-elects in bold:

DEHCHO (all polls reporting)

Bonnetrouge, Ronald - 145

Lafferty, Richard C. - 27

Vandell, Steven - 177

Yakeleya, Sheryl - 229

FRAME LAKE (13 polls reporting)

Cornfield, Deanna - 26

Morse, Julian - 209

Stanley, John - 49

Tracy, Spencer - 182

Wray, Stuart - 169

GREAT SLAVE (10 polls reporting)

Arden Smith, Stacie - 170

Lawrance, James - 42

Nokleby, Katrina - 156

Reid, Kate - 200

HAY RIVER NORTH (8 polls reporting)

McMeekin, Greg - 15

Simpson, R.J - 398

Wallington, Michael - 109

Wiedemann, Hans - 85

HAY RIVER SOUTH (all polls reporting)

McKay, Vince - 282

Schumann, Wally - 238

Simpson, Rocky - 210

INUVIK BOOT LAKE (all polls reporting)

Archie, Diane - 152

Rodgers, Denny - 210

Ross, Sallie - 132

INUVIK TWIN LAKES (7 polls reporting)

McLeod, Lenora - 128

Semmler, Lesa - 322


Cleveland, Caitlin (ACCLAIMED)

MACKENZIE DELTA (all polls reporting)

Blake, Frederick Jr. - 220

Nerysoo, George - 233

Ross Jr., Richard - 176


Armstrong, Jane (ACCLAIMED)

NAHENDEH (15 polls reporting)

Allen, Sharon - 126

Campbell, Josh - 19

Cli-Michaud, Mavis - 157

Deneron, Hillary - 83

Thompson, Shane - 271

Wright, Les - 98

NUNAKPUT (all polls reporting)

Kuptana, Lucy - 340

Teddy, Vince - 159

RANGE LAKE (all polls reporting)

Reid, Aaron - 155

Sok, Nicole - 109

Testart, Kieron - 326

SAHTU (all polls reporting)

Chinna, Paulie - 226

McNeely, Daniel - 372

Pierrot, Delphine (Dolly) - 207

THEBACHA (8 polls reporting)

Benwell, Connie - 95

MacDonald, Jay - 483

Martselos, Frieda - 416

TU NEDHE-WIILIDEH (10 polls reporting)

Delorme, Nadine - 24

Edjericon, Richard - 127

YELLOWKNIFE CENTRE (12 polls reporting)

Chenemu, Ambe - 225

Hawkins, Robert - 333

Spence, Matt - 243

YELLOWKNIFE NORTH (13 polls reporting)

Howe, Jon - 54

Morgan, Shauna - 734

Valpy, Bruce - 350


Wawzonek, Caroline (ACCLAIMED)

About the Author: James McCarthy

I'm the managing editor with NNSL Media and have been so since 2022.
Read more