Premier Peter Taptuna is not seeking re-election Oct. 30.

Peter Taptuna led Nunavut’s Fourth Legislative Assembly as premier from Nov. 15, 2013 to Sept. 24, 2017.
photo courtesy Government of Nunavut

In a phone interview with Nunavut News/North in August, Taptuna was uncertain whether he would run again.

“My boss hasn’t decided yet,” he said, referring to his wife Joanne. “Our 40th anniversary is coming up in January and I do have to take full consideration of her wishes at this point. We have to see what we’re going to be doing.”

In a statement released after the close of the declaration period Sept. 29, Taptuna said he was not seeking re-election and that it had been a difficult family decision.

“It has been a great honour to serve Nunavummiut for the last nine years as minister and then as premier,” he said.

“I encourage the next government to continue to step forward together with strong resolve, and to provide Nunavummiut with a clear long-term vision for our vibrant, resilient territory.”

Keith Peterson, MLA for Cambridge Bay since 2004 and finance minister since 2008, also declined to run again.

The remaining MLAs, except Aivilik’s Steve Mapsalak, are now election hopefuls.

Of 72 candidates, 17 are women.

In 1997, Nunavummiut voted “no” in a gender-parity plebiscite. Had Nunavummiut voted in favour, the Government of Nunavut would have been the first legislated gender-equal government in the world, with voters casting ballots for one male and one female for each constituency.


Cambridge Bay

Jeannie Hakongak Ehaloak

Pamela Gross

Harry Maksagak

Gjoa Haven

Tony Akoak*

Paul Puqiqnak

Joseph Aglukkaq

James Taqaugaq Qitsualik


Mila Adjukak Kamingoak


(Kugaaruk, Taloyoak)

Emiliano Qirngnuq*

Joe Tulurialik



(Coral Harbour, Naujaat)

Jack Anawak

Patterk Netser

Arviat North-Whale Cove

George Kuksuk*

John Main

Arviat South

Joe Savikataaq*

Jason Gibbons

Baker Lake

Simeon Mikkungwak*

Karen Kabloona

Rankin Inlet North-Chesterfield Inlet

Tom Sammurtok*

Cedric Autut

Cathy Towtongie

Douglas Aggark

Rankin Inlet South

Alexander Sammurtok*

Lorne Kusugak



(north Iglulik)

Paul A. Quassa*

Jerome Sheaves

Matt Teed

Richard Amarualik


(Hall Beach, south Iglulik)

George Quviq Qulaut*

Solomon Angugasak Allurut

Paul Haulli

Joelie Kaernerk

Jason Ikeperiar

Reena Akumalik Irqittuq

Erasmus Ivvalu


(north Iqaluit)

George Hickes*

Jacopoosie Peter


(west Iqaluit)

Monica Ell-Kanayuk*

Adam Arreak Lightstone

Jude Lewis

Okalik Eegeesiak


(east Iqaluit)

Pat Angnakak*

Franco Buscemi

Anne Crawford


(south Iqaluit)

Paul Okalik*

Cindy Rennie

Elisapee Sheutiapik

Adamee Itorcheak

Hudson Bay


Allan Rumbolt*

Peter Kattuk

Peter Qavvik


Johnny Mike*

Harry John Dialla

Margaret Nakashuk

Hezakiah Oshutapik


(Arctic Bay, Grise Fiord, Resolute)

Isaac Shooyook*

Rachel A. Qitsualik-Tinsley

Leo Eecherk

David Akeeagok

Mishak Allurut

Kataisee Attagutsiak

Andrew Taqtu

Gary Kalluk

Mavis Manik

South Baffin

(Cape Dorset, Kimmirut)

David Joanasie*

Michael Salomonie


(Pond Inlet)

Joe Enook*

Jeannie Mills

David Qamaniq


(Clyde River, Qikiqtarjuaq)

Pauloosie Keyootak*

Jerry Natanine

Johnathan Palluq

Michele LeTourneau

Michele LeTourneau first arrived at NNSL's headquarters in Yellowknife in1998, with a BA honours in Theatre. For four years she documented the arts across the Northwest Territories and Nunavut. Following...

Leave a comment

Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published.