Fort Good Hope elected Daniel Masuzumi as its new chief Tuesday.

The final tally gave Masuzumi 166 votes, sealing a win over incumbent Wilfred McNeely Jr’s 88 votes, Fort Good Hope charter community office staff confirmed.

Out of the 15 candidates for council, voters selected: Joseph Tobac, at 176 votes; Arthur Tobac, at 159 votes; Stella Rabisca, at 139 votes; Jacinta Grandjambe, at 130 votes; George Barnaby, at 127 votes; Charles McNeely, at 125 votes; Rose McNeely, at 125 votes; Rodger Boniface, at 118 votes; and Dwayne Barnaby with 116 votes.


Nick Pearce

Nick Pearce is a writer and reporter in Yellowknife, looking for unique stories on the environment and people that make up the North. He's a graduate of Queen's University, where he studied Global Development...