The time is almost here.

There are some excited people waiting to vote for their favourite in the Greatest Of All Time and we are nearing that moment when you get to choose the greatest NWT sports team of all time.

Let’s clarify how things will go:

There will be one matchup per week — NOT all eight match-ups at once. The matchups will be done in order of where they sit on the bracket with the first one being the 2014 world championship-winning NWT Rebels women’s broomball team taking on the 2019 mixed curling squad of Jamie Koe, Kerry Galusha, David Aho and Megan Koehler in the classic David vs. Goliath contest of 1 vs. 16.

The 2014 edition of the NWT Rebels women’s broomball team won the World Women’s Broomball Championship that year and are the top seeds for the Greatest Of All Time bracket tournament. The champs are, front row from left, Denise Pyke, Grace Lau-a, Kyra Powder, Sarah Elsasser, Danielle Hawes and Terri-Lynn Locke-Setter; back row from left, Aki Iwase, Angela Love, Janelle James, Adriana Zibolenova, Orla Tobin, Jenny Crawford, Martha Goodman, Brenda Tittlemier and Tina Locke-Setter.
photo courtesy of NWT Rebels

Voting will begin Monday morning at 9 a.m. MDT and will continue through to 11:59 p.m. MDT on Tuesday. Any votes received after 11:59 p.m. on Tuesday will not be counted. You can cast a vote by e-mailing or by going to our Facebook page.

If you vote via Facebook, a vote will be counted by either a like, a share or a comment in favour of the post. There will be two separate posts for each of the competitors and you choose which one you wish to like, share or comment on.

Jamie Koe and his rink of Kerry Galusha, David Aho and Megan Koehler scored the bronze medal at the Canadian Mixed Curling Championship in Saguenay, Que., this past November.
Valerie Simard/Curling Canada photo

It’s the 2014 NWT Rebels versus the 2019 mixed curling bronze medalists. Watch for it tomorrow morning.

James McCarthy

I've been hanging around the office as the sports editor for the better part of the last 16 years. In August 2022, NNSL Media decided to promote me to the managing editor's position, which I accepted after...

Join the Conversation


Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published.