It’s another all-sport battle in the Greatest Of All Time competition and it pits two curling teams from vastly different eras.

The Fort Smith Fire Department foursome of Howard Brazeau, Dick Cisarowski, Jim Schaeffer and Mickey MacEachern made NWT curling history by winning the first national curling title of any kind for the territory by winning the 1976 Dominion Firefighters Curling Association championship. Just to prove it was no fluke, they did it again in 1977, repeating as champions.

Click here to read about how they did it.

They will be up against the Yellowknife foursome of Kevin Koe, Jamie Koe, Mark Whitehead and Kevin Whitehead that finished second at the 1994 Pepsi Canadian Junior Curling Championships. It was that burned rock which cost them the title but it didn’t come without controversy, as you’ll read here.

It’s your votes that determines who moves on to round two and a date with either the 2010 NWT Rebels broomball team of the 2013-2014 Yellowknife Wolfpack hockey team. Voting will begin this morning at 9 a.m., one hour from now, and will continue through to 11:59 p.m. tomorrow evening. You can either like, share or comment on the post of your choice but only one method will count as a vote.

Will Fort Smith come up lucky again or will the juniors draw to the button? It’s up to you.

James McCarthy

I've been hanging around the office as the sports editor for the better part of the last 16 years. In August 2022, NNSL Media decided to promote me to the managing editor's position, which I accepted after...

Join the Conversation


Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published.

  1. I was there and the Junior Men team should have been the winning team. Warren Hanson made the wrong call. My vote is for the 1994 NWT Junior Men’s Curling Team.