Aurora College is celebrating its 50th year educating Northerners with a new crop of graduates from the Yellowknife, Inuvik and Fort Smith campuses. Students who attend Aurora College come from communities all across the NWT, some originating from Alberta and as far away as Nova Scotia.

During the April 27 convocation ceremony for the Yellowknife campus, Aurora College
President Tom Weegar spoke at length about the topic of failure. He noted how the achievements of the Aurora College students were great and how it is often the failures in one’s life and how they are overcome that shape the way people develop.

Weegar said it was the student’s ability to address failure courageously and overcome hardships that lead them to success.

Business Administration Certificate – Aurora Campus, Inuvik. Back Row: Lynda MacCauley, Janelle Pascal, Angela Storr
photo courtesy Jayne Murray
BSN: Bachlor of Science in Nursing
Back (left to right) –Colin Morris, Stephanie Karhut, Jenipher Nakyanzi, Geraldine Whiteford, Jasmine Gordon, Jordan Erickson
Front (left to right)- Kyle MacPhee, Lucinda Kanapetradu, Jody Prince, Hosai Ayoubi, Shania Clark, Danielle Wendehorst
photo courtesy Jayne Murray
Aurora College President Dr. Tom Weegar, left, accepted a specially designed 50th Anniversary gift for each campus from the Honourable Margaret Thom, Commissioner of the Northwest Territories. The artwork incorporates the Inuit and Dene/Metis drums to represent the people of the NWT.
photo courtesy Jayne Murray
ENRTP – Environment and Natural Resources Technology Diploma
(beginning bottom left and going clockwise):
Sheyenne Jumbo, Taylor Summerfield, Myles Barry , Robert Dekruysser, Bradly Bird, James Williams, Sylvia Charlo.
photo courtesy Jayne Murray


Office Administration Certificate – Aurora Campus, Inuvik
Back row (left to right): Andrea Jerome, Shayna Allen, Sarah Nerysoo, Chaleigh Charlie, Amanda Irish.
Front Row (left to right):
Deborah Peterson, Glenda Nerysoo, Daralynn Kay, Stephanie Felix, Heather Thrasher
photo courtesy Jayne Murray
PSW photo – Personal Support Worker Certificate
Back row left to right: Christie Murphy (instructor), Rhea Chinna, Chelsey Daniels, Stephanie Vermillion, Fowsiyo Mohamud, Diane McNeely-Kochon, Wanda Roberts (instructor)
Front row left to right: Shanta Ansdell, Crystal Campbell, Macey Rabesca, Christa Harris, Katlyn Bernarde
photo courtesy Jayne Murray
Valedictorial – Fort Smith (Thebacha Campus)
Karen Lepine and her daughter Winter-Rose perform drum song at close of Valedictory Address
photo courtesy Jayne Murray


Brett McGarry

Brett McGarry came to Yellowknife in early 2019 after graduating from Humber College with an advanced diploma in journalism. After covering city council and local business as a reporter, Brett is now an...

Leave a comment

Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published.