The new mayor of Yellowknife and eight city councillors were sworn-in to their new roles Monday afternoon. 

Rebecca Alty, right is sworn in as Mayor by Justice Louise Charbonneau. Dylan Short/NNSL photo

The new council were sworn-in by Justice Louise Charbonneau in front of a packed house in the council chamber at city hall. Mayor Rebecca Aly will be taking the seat of mayor for the first time after two terms as a councillor. The council will feature five returnees and three first-time councillors.

The council will jump right into business as they are presented the draft 2019 budget Monday afternoon. This will be the first council to hold their positions for four years after a plebiscite was approved to increase the term of council from three to four years.

Leave a comment

Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published.