Skip to content

Broomball vs. hockey in final first round match-up of GOAT

GOAT logo

The first round of NNSL Media's Greatest Of All Time competition comes to a close this week with the final contest.

It pits the 2020 NWT Rebels women's broomball team, which won bronze at that year's World Broomball Championships in Austria, versus the 2013-2014 edition of the Yellowknife Wolfpack peewee development team, one of the best minor hockey teams to ever come from the North.

Voting will begin at 9 a.m.this morning and will continue until 11:59 p.m. tomorrow evening. You can vote by visiting NNSL Media's Facebook page and either liking, sharing or commenting on the post of your choice. If you like, share and comment, your like will be counted as your vote. As well, you must vote on the original post, not on a shared post. Any votes cast on a shared post will not count.

The winner will move on to round two to take on the 1994 NWT junior boys curling team of Kevin Koe, Jamie Koe, Mark Whitehead and Kevin Whitehead, who won a spirited battle last week.

Here's what the round two match-ups look like thus far:

2020 NWT mixed curling rink (Jamie Koe, Kerry Galusha, David Aho and Megan Koehler) vs. 2019 NWT men's doubles darts team (Elvis Beaudoin and Keith Way);

1979 Yellowknife Junior Merchants softball team vs. 2018-2019 Team Galusha (Kerry Galusha, Sarah Koltun, Brittany Tran and Shona Barbour);

2016 Yellowknife Coyotes broomball team vs. 2016 Team North hockey squad;

1994 NWT junior boys curling rink vs. winner of 2010 NWT Rebels/2013-2014 Yellowknife Wolfpack