Julie Green, MLA for Yellowknife Centre, was sworn by Commissioner Margaret Thom as a member of the executive council of the Legislative Assembly on Tuesday.

Her portfolio won’t be determined until later this week, she told NNSL Media on Aug. 28.

Several members of the Assembly witnessed the swearing in, including Premier Caroline Cochrane, Finance Minister Caroline Wawzonek, Health Minister Diane Thom and Paulie Chinna, Minister of Municipal and Community Affairs.

Green nominated herself for the executive council position on Aug. 27, the only Yellowknife MLA to do so, after Katrina Nokleby, MLA for Great Slave was removed from the council through a non-confidence motion the day before.

Margaret Thom, left, Commissioner of the NWT celebrates beside Julie Green, MLA for Yellowknife Centre after she swore in Green to her new position on the executive council of the Legislative Assembly on Tuesday. Blair McBride/NNSL photo

Green was elected to the 18th Legislative Assembly in 2015 and was re-elected to her position for the 19th Assembly in 2019.

Blair McBride

Blair McBride covers the Legislative Assembly, business and education. Before coming to Yellowknife he worked as a journalist in British Columbia, Thailand and Ontario. He studied journalism at Western...

Leave a comment

Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published.