This year’s new entrants to the Order of the Northwest Territories have been announced.

Yellowknife’s Les Carpenter and Inuvik’s Lillian Elias and Sharon Firth will receive the award at a ceremony at the Legislative Assembly of the NWT next week.

“These three recipients have made differences in the lives of Northerners in a number of ways, they have each been role models for youth in the territory and have made a difference in people’s lives,” stated Legislative Assembly clerk Tim Mercer in a press release.

photo courtesy of Inuvaluit Regional Corporation
Les Carpenter (right) as master of ceremonies during the signing of the Inuvaluit Final Agreement in 1984. Carpenter will be awarded the Order of the NWT next week.

The Order of the NWT is considered the highest honour awarded to NWT residents, stated the press release, and it “recognizes individuals who have served with the greatest distinction and excelled in any field of endeavour benefiting the people of the NWT or elsewhere.”

Carpenter is being recognized posthumously for his contributions to the field of communications in the North. Carpenter worked in the media in the North most recently as the CEO of the Native Communications Society, the parent company of CKLB. Carpenter died of cancer earlier this year.

Lillian Elias is being recognized for her work with Inuvialuit language programs and for being a strong advocate for revitalizing indigenous languages in the NWT.

Olympic skier Sharon Firth will be receiving the award for her outstanding athletic achievements.

Leave a comment

Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published.