Skip to content

Youth take over the legislative assembly

Courtesy of the Legislative Assembly Pictured here are the 2018 Youth Parliament's representatives from the communities. Back row, left to right: Breeanna Lennie, Inuvik Twin Lakes; Joel Rhymer, Thebacha; Emily Hardisty-Marcellais, Nahendeh; Meghan Russell, Sahtu; Mataya Gillis, Inuvik Boot Lake; Richter Ignacio, Hay River North. Front row, left to right: JR Migwi, Monfwi; Reegan Junkind, Hay River South; Amélie Aubrey-Smith, Tu Nedhe Wiilideh; Rhoda Felix-Pokiak, Nunakput; Libby Day-McLeod, Mackenzie Delta; Maverick Simba-Canadien, Deh Cho. May 15, 2018

The NWT Youth Parliament is set to convene today in the NWT Legislative Assembly. Nineteen high school students will represent their home constituencies for three days of meetings and briefings. The program aims to educate Northern youth about consensus government, the legislature's operations and the role of MLAs in the Northwest Territories. Members of the public are invited to view the proceedings in the chamber of the legislative assembly from the public gallery on May 9 at 1:30 p.m.